The best podcast episode I listened to today was the unexpected return of an old favorite: Tim Goodmanā€™s TV Talk Machine. The show ended in 2020. I never unsubscribed, and was surprised this week to find new episodes waiting for me. I would not have noticed them if there hadnā€™t been a redesign of Overcast, my podcast player, for me to look at this week.

Itā€™s been 612 pandemic-fueled days. But weā€™ve taken the tarp off the TV Talk Machine, replaced a few parts, and are ready to kick it into gear.

Tim spent the last two years writing TV scripts! Heā€™s going to keep doing that, and write a book, and also has launched a newsletter on Substack so he can write about television again. Andā€¦ did we mention the TV Talk Machine is back, too? Itā€™s true!

In this episode Tim explains where heā€™s been, where heā€™s going, and the origin of his new project, which launches today! Also Jason raves about ā€œStation Elevenā€ and believe it or not, thereā€™s a letter from a listener!

Tim Goodman was a TV critic who had clearly burned out by early 2020. He and co-host Jason Snell ended the podcast shortly after Goodman quit his TV critic job and started a secret (at the time) TV development deal. What I learned from this podcast back then is that it must be exhausting to be a TV critic, because it is impossible to keep up with all the TV shows and TV episodes coming out all the time, and because you have to watch shows you donā€™t even like sometimes in order to write about them or to be culturally current. In general, I figured that he had watched too much TV and got sick of it. This episode confirmed that I was right.

In the past I learned about a bunch of great TV shows from this podcast. That isnā€™t why it was fun to listen to, though. The subject matter is usually very light, and Goodman and Snell chat like old friends.