I updated my home page/landing page using Hugo: mjdescy.me.

I definitely don’t have the hang of using Hugo yet, but I’m learning. One thing that made me feel stupid is that I don’t know how to get rid of the “Blog” section that the template I’m using wants to include. In the interest of getting something that is not bare HTML published, I created some meaningless blog posts.

The last time I used a static website publisher, I had to create my own themes from scratch. The hard part with that was in creating something that looked halfway decent on various screen sizes. With Hugo, there are a ton of great themes available, but they all have constraints about what content the site must contain. That is tough for me right now because I don’t know how to change those settings, and I mostly want to create very simple sites.