I have been slowly teaching myself Hugo tonight. I haven’t gotten to the fun part yet, I guess. Due to incompatibilities with themes and, in the case of my first install, with the location where I want to store my site files, I had to install Hugo (on my Linux server) four different times now: via snap, apt, the “hugo” .deb package, and finally the “hugo extended” .dev package. I am finally at the point where I may have found a theme that is suitable for my personal site landing page.

Hugo is not my first static site generator. I actually landed on a less-known one called Punch a long time ago. It is not longer being developed, so I don’t want to use it any more. It was very simple to use, though, in a way that Hugo does not seem to be. I think that once I get the hang of Hugo I will love it though.